Skip to content
FREE economy shipping on all orders over $99* US (lower 48 states)
FREE economy shipping on all orders over $99* US (lower 48 states)

Super Cup Championship Series – Race 3

The Super Cup headed north for Race 3 of the 2016 Spring Session. A new track for the series, Newberry RC Park is an outdoor track just outside of Gainesville and takes many styling cues from the now retired Shiverville Raceway. With 199 entries and another nice sunny Florida day we had another great race day. Leading up to the event on Saturday the track crew worked really hard all week perfecting the surface and layout. We do live in Florida and the weather can change quickly, we ended up with a heavy downpour late Thursday night which changed everything for Friday’s practice. The Newberry crew was not going to give up yet and spent most of Friday and into the early morning of Saturday to be sure we had a great surface to run on Saturday.

A slightly damp and sandy track greeted the racers on Saturday morning but the Florida sun and Ray Reno’s “special sauce” had the track almost perfect for the second round of qualifiers. Unfortunately that meant you had to put in a good run in round 2 since lap times were way faster than the first round. There were a few top drivers who had bad breaks in round 2, which made for some exciting B Main events with drivers wanting that bump to the A.

Drivers Meeting Walkthrough – Spring 2016 Race 3

A walkthrough of this mornings drivers meeting. Race 3 hosted by Newberry RC has 199 entries, great weather and a nice facility. Scoring is live on LiveRC.

Posted by Super Cup Championship Series on Saturday, March 5, 2016


The A Mains started off with the ever growing Novice Open class. With three full heats, there were several looking to get those two bump spots into the A Main. In the C Main it was Shawn Schmidt and Conner Garoot making the bump into the B Main. Conner would go onto bump his way into the A Main along with Anastasios Diamantakis. The Top Qualifier for the Novice class was Shelby Owens, Shelby would go on to win the A Main followed by Shiloh Hendrickson in second and Stan Jacobs finished third.

Next up was the 2wd Expert Stock Buggy Class. In the C Main it would be Derek Jacobs and Julien Oliveras bumping their way into the B Main. Robert Molina would take the win in the B Main along with Kyle Paquett to bump their way into the A Main. Alan Wight was sitting in the TQ spot and ran a great race taking the overall win. Tiller Pollack would finish second and AJ Marasco would finish third.

The 2wd Independent Stock Buggy class runs a control tire to help the independent driver with cost and the uncertainty of what tire to run. For Race 3 the drivers were once again on JConcepts Bar Codes in blue compound up front and black compound Splitters in the rear. Ray Reno would take the win in the C Main and Mike Templeton took the second bump spot into the B Main. Tracey Proctor and Trevor Schaeffer would bump from the B into the A. The Top Qualifier would be John Prickett, John would check out and take the overall win. Drew Libby finished second and Kris Manning finished third.


2wd Mod Buggy was another exciting set of races. With several top drivers in the B Main it was an exciting race with Jason Ruona taking the win and Daimon Borkowicz finishing second, both bumping to the A. Leon Mcintosh would be the Top Qualifier but it would be The two B Main drivers making their way to the front making it a AE/JConcepts podium, Jason Ruona would finish first, Daimon Borkowicz in second and Paul Wynn in third.

2wd 40+ Mod Buggy had Matthew Kluge and Danny Wight bumping into the A Main. The TQ spot would go to Richard Schaeffer but it would be Aaron Sikes taking the win followed by Walter Cruz in second and David Diaz in third.

The 2wd Stock Truck class is still popular and just as exciting to watch. In the C Main it would be Trevor Schaeffer and Harold Thomas bumping up to the B Main. John Prickett and Drew Libby would bump their way into the A Main. Kyle Paquett set the pace in qualifying and was sitting TQ. AJ Marasco would go on to win the A Main followed by David Whitesides in second and Jordan Newman in third.

In Mod Truck it would be Jader Lopez taking the TQ but Jader would end up finishing second. Chad Eubanks would take the win from Jader by 2 seconds and David Diaz finished third.

The 2wd Stock Short Course class had John Dasch starting the A Main from the number one spot but it would be Robert Molina running a clean race taking the win by over a half a lap. John Dasch would finish second and Kevin Abbott finished a close third.

The always exciting 4wd Short Course class had Scott Large and Jonathan Hutton bumping their way into the A. Julien Oliveras would be sitting TQ and was running a great race until he was sidelined after lap 10. That would open the race up to Daniel Paz and Jordan Singletary for a good battle, Daniel would take the win followed by Jordan in second and Blake Raulerson would finish third.

4wd 13.5 Buggy had Jamie White taking the win in the B Main and Kevin Welfley finishing second. Kevin would go onto race his way to 4th in the A Main. Danny Chavez took the TQ spot but would finish second overall. Aaron Sikes would hold off Danny by less than one second for the overall win, Jordan Singletary would finish third.

The final main of the day would be 4wd Mod Buggy. In the B Main it would be Jackson Brunson and Jason Kennedy bumping their way into the A. Daimon Borkowicz would be the Top Qualifier for the day, Daimon would go on to take the overall win. Leon Mcintosh would go onto finish second and Landen Lewis would take third.


The crew at Newberry RC Park were amazing all weekend long, a great facility and track, we look forward to being back there soon. The local Gainesville Newspaper was out on Saturday doing a story on the event, you can check that out HERE and their video HERE. Thanks again to all the racers for their support of the series, Lance for keeping things moving and to JConcepts for all their support of the series. We will see you all back on April 2nd for the final race of the Spring Session hosted by FZRC in Sarasota Florida.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and register for future Super Cup events on

Previous article JConcepts New Release – S15 – Tekno EB48 2.0 Body