Skip to content
FREE economy shipping on all orders over $99* US (lower 48 states)
FREE economy shipping on all orders over $99* US (lower 48 states)

ROAR 1/8th Electric and 4×4 SCT Nationals

Ryan Maifield and Spencer Rivkin pick up 3 more ROAR National titles with JConcepts.

Racers converged at Stateline RC Raceway in Fremont, IN, for the 2016 ROAR 1/8th Electric and 4×4 SCT Nationals. A fresh track build greeted the racers coming in from the U.S.A. and Canada for a battle of the baddest electric vehicles in radio control.

Qualifying got underway as Ryan Maifield set the pace with his JConcepts equipped TLR vehicles. 1/8 E-buggy, E-Truggy and 4×4 SCT were highlighted as Ryan drove to the limit he’s so famous for throughout rounds 1 and 2. The young Spencer Rivkin displayed some speed of his own with the Team Associated rides finishing 2nd in rounds 2 and 3 in the buggy class and picking up a 2nd in the truggy class as well.

The track crew maintained a watered surface which played to the strength of the Triple Dees and Reflex tires in the 1/8th class. During the morning rounds the drivers used green compound and as the heat of the day arrived, drivers utilized the blue compound. In the 4×4 SCT class, Maifield’s freshly released TLR SCT-E 3.0 was top of the field, racking up TQ by the 2nd round of qualifying with Double Dees supplying the needed grip.

As the 2nd day of qualifying was upon the drivers, a slight threat of weather loomed the area. Race officials, including Alex Sturgeon, were prepared with an extended race schedule that offered main events starting on Saturday evening. Knowing the tight terms, racers cooperated quickly during qualifying rounds 3 and 4 to finish off qualification. Ryan Maifield continued his dominance of the field by taking 3 of 4 E-buggy and E-Truggy TQ’s and 4 straight TQ’s in the 4×4 SCT class. Spencer Rivkin, Dakotah Phend, Ryan Lutz and Ryan Cavalieri stacked the field just behind Ryan as the main events were sure to be exciting.

Main events started with Ryan Maifield getting off to a terrific start in E-buggy A1. Spencer Rivkin, however, found himself in trouble on lap 1 and was forced to catch the field. Maifield led with Lutz, Cavalieri and Bornhorst trying to keep pace with Maifield, also the 2015 defending class champion. The track was alive with dust, bumpy sections and blue groove sections which caused the drivers trouble. The crashes mounted and Rivkin showed pace with the RC8B3 making his way all the way to 2nd and just behind Maifield. The two JConcepts teammates raced well together for the last several minutes and Maifield crossed the line for the win and his first championship of the day. Spencer Rivkin retained 2nd and Ryan Lutz 3rd.


The 4×4 SCT trucks took to the track for A1 with a competitive field of drivers. TQ, Ryan Maifield was determined from the start and made quick work of the Stateline track with no mistakes. The truck was locked in with a fresh set of Double Dees tires which allowed Maifield freedom to drive where he needed. Lutz drove well with the Tekno vehicle and maintained his position throughout the 6 minute main, keeping pace with the multi-time ROAR champ. Maifield and Lutz amazingly ran error free runs to finish within just seconds of each other and Maifield took his 2nd title of the day. Ryan Lutz finished a deserving 2nd while the home town driver Dakotah Phend rounded out the podium.


One more main for the Saturday program had the 1/8th E-Truggy A1 main in grid position. Once again, Maifield blasted into the lead with followers Rivkin, Phend, Lutz and Bornhort in tow. It appeared to be Maifield’s race as he stretched the lead and looked confident. An issue in traffic caused a collision which tightened the field with several trucks slipping past Maifield. Spencer Rivkin emerged in the lead running the Reflex tires in blue compound. A cluster of trucks including Maifield were packed behind Rivkin jockeying for position. Maifield made several pass attempts but the door was closed each time denying the Arizona driver the opportunity to move up. With battles between teammates ensuing, Rivkin checked out with the Team Associated RC8T3-E and crossed for a huge victory. Dakotah Phend finished in 2nd and Joe Bornhorst 3rd.

Racers arrived early Sunday morning to fresh rain, puddles and some mud, giving even the Stateline crew a serious challenge. The tarps protecting the track were pulled back and maintenance began around 9:30am. As the track was making progress, another storm moved in forcing the officials to call off the rest of the mains due to unsafe and undriveable conditions. Overall championships were awarded based on A1 finishes. Ryan Maifield maintained his 1/8th E-buggy championship title and picked up the 4×4 SCT title, while Spencer Rivkin was victorious in 1/8th E-truggy. Photo ceremonies concluded with a big congratulations to the winners and also the rather large Stateline crew and of course ROAR and the race management team on a successful event.

Thanks to Exposure Control for the action photos.

JConcepts products used:
3132-02 – Triple Dees tires
3125-01 – Reflex tires
3043-02 – Double Dees tires
3369W – Mono 4.0 1/8th truck wheels
3352B – Hazard SCT-E 3.0 wheels
3357W – Mono 83mm 1/8th buggy wheels
3233 – Dirt-Tech 1/8th buggy inserts
3239 – Dirt-Tech 1/8th truck inserts
0222L – Hi-Flow SCT body
0312 – Finnisher TLR 8ight-T 4.0 body
Finnisher RC8T3 body
0146B – Hybrid wing

Previous article JConcepts New Release – S15 – Tekno EB48 2.0 Body