Skip to content
FREE economy shipping on all orders over $99* US (lower 48 states)
FREE economy shipping on all orders over $99* US (lower 48 states)

JConcepts wins 2009 JBRL Electric Series – Final Results

JBRL Final Results - podium - 800Event: 2009 JBRL Electric Series Final Results
Date: October 10-11th, 2009
Classes: 1/10th off-road and Short Course
Race Reporter: Frank Root

Faced with all kinds of track conditions from loose, bumpy, loamy, to smooth high-bite blue groove conditions, JConcepts tires and accessories were the choice of champions on the JBRL!

Again it was time to return to the center of electric off-road racing in Southern California, Hot Rod Hobbies.  Jimmy Babcock’s own track, and the final destination for the Jimmy Babcock Racing League, was not only the track to end the season, but the one that started our electric series 7 rounds, and 7 long months ago.  Several of the overall points championships were still on the line, and another round, with an extended format and a fun layout would help decide the out come.  JConcepts’ team driver Frank Root was on hand to anchor the team of young quick drivers, including Brian McDuffie, Jason Pang, Cody Turner, and Reedy Truck Race Champion Brent Calvert.

The 2-wheel drive modified class still had a fierce battle alive for 2nd through 5th in the final points, but no one could catch Frank Root as he had already clinched the title with 2 rounds remaining.  Frank was not able to attend the first 3 rounds of qualifying held on Saturday, so Brian McDuffie held the TQ through 2 rounds, only to have Ryan Dunford steal it away in the final run of the day, by less than 1 second.  Sunday was a new day, and Root used the last chance qualifier to put in a good run to secure the overall TQ honors.  This proved to be the winning move as Frank took off at the start of the 8 minute main, and pulled out to a lead that lasted until the end.  The really battle of the race was for the second position, with Brian McDuffie squeaking by Ryan Dunford for the second spot.

4-wheel modified was much the same as 2-wheel, Frank had secured the championship, but several positions were still up for grabs.  Also, just like 2wd, Brian McDuffie held the TQ through 3 rounds, with Dunford stealing it away in the final round on Saturday.  Frank was not able snatch the TQ, but was able to slide between Dunford and McDuffie into the second spot on the grid.  The start of the main was very hectic, with a lot of the running order changing positions.  Brian came away with a healthy lead, while Frank was in the back of the pack try to work his way back to the front.  3 minutes in, McDuffie still led with Lasley, Dunford, Pang, and Root all locked in a fierce battle for 2nd.  Frank would eventually move his way into 2nd and set his sights on McDuffie.  Root worked his way past McDuffie and stretch out a comfortable lead.  McDuffie would finish second, with Dunford in 3rd.

With all 8 rounds completed, it was time to tally up the points and crown the 2009 JBRL Champions.  Frank Root led with 5 wins dominating both the 2wd and 4wd Modified classes.  In 2wd, Frank was perfect scoring the maximum amount of points with TQ’s and Wins in 5 rounds.  4wd was not perfect for Frank, but he still had 4 TQ’s to go with 5 wins.  In the 2009 JBRL Series, JConcepts tires won every single modified buggy A-Main. These were not the only Championships for JConcepts; privateer racer Kevin Williams won the Rookie Championship, participating in the JBRL for the first time.  Brent Calvert was able to win both the Stock Truck and Buggy classes despite missing 2 rounds.  Cody Turner won the 2wd Super Stock class by a comfortable margin.  Frank Root was able to secure the Open Short Course Championship, which made its debut as a class on the 2009 JBRL series.

Products used to win the 8 race series –

Previous article JConcepts New Release – S15 – Tekno EB48 2.0 Body